Midland and City of Swan

A City with History

City of Swan includes the historic  Midland and the stunning tourist attraction, the Swan Valley, known for it’s incredible wine and food experiences.

The City of Swan is a local government area of Western Australia. It is in the eastern metropolitan region of Perth and includes the Swan Valley, centred approximately 20 km north-east of the Perth central business district. The City covers an area of 1,043 km² (much of which is uninhabited) and had a population of almost 134,000 as at the 2016 Census. 

The City of Swan was formed on 1 April 1970 as the Shire of Swan with the amalgamation of the Shire of Swan-Guildford and the Town of Midland. It assumed its current name when it gained city status on April 2000.


With over 160,000 visitors a year, City of Swan and Midland offer a range of experiences for nature explorers, foodies and history buffs. Visitors and residents are spoilt for choice with arts and crafts, gourmet food, wine, wildlife encounters, parks and reserves, local produce and historic attractions. Midland and the City of Swan has it all!


City of Swan Suburbs

  • Aveley
  • Ballajura
  • Baskerville
  • Beechboro
  • Belhus
  • Bellevue
  • Bennett Springs
  • Brabham
  • Brigadoon
  • Bullsbrook
  • Bushmead
  • Caversham
  • Cullacabardee
  • Dayton
  • Ellenbrook
  • Gidgegannup
  • Guildford
  • Hazelmere
  • Henley Brook
  • Herne Hill
  • Jane Brook
  • Kiara
  • Koongamia
  • Lexia
  • Lockridge
  • Malaga
  • Melaleuca
  • Middle Swan
  • Midland
  • Midvale
  • Millendon
  • Noranda
  • Red Hill
  • Stratton
  • South Guildford
  • Swan View
  • The Vines
  • Upper Swan
  • Viveash
  • West Swan
  • Whiteman
  • Woodbridge